The anime blog reviews

Screen Shot 2014-05-09 at 12.25.06 PM

Spring 2014 / Mushishi

I have yet to make a post about the anime season of spring 2014… probably because i’m only interested in one show. But, at least, it’s the best I could hope for. If you have yet to watch the season one of Mushishi, I seriously don’t know what you’re waiting for. The uniqueness of every episode, the poetry, the animation, the sound design, the characters, the human stories… I don’t even know where to start in order to do it justice. So please, do yourself a favor, and go watch season one, then pick up season two, you’re definitely not gonna regret it.

Screen Shot 2014-01-11 at 1.57.56 PM

After one episode

(winter 2014) Don’t get your hopes hope… it’s pretty terrible. The anime of this list were selected because they looked watchable… there’s many more this season (you can view them all on anichart) but I simply could not bring myself to watch most of them as they looked terrible. Good luck !

- Read More -

Screen Shot 2013-07-11 at 6.16.02 PM

Best of (2013)

So here’s the thing… I was in Japan and way too busy to take care of this blog (good enough ?), but thanks for the few people who took time to send me emails. Instead of doing a review of the fall anime season, I’m just gonna go ahead and do a quick list of the best anime I enjoyed this year. As always, I don’t particularly enjoy rating stuff from good to very good. So here’s a list of anime I very much enjoyed in 2013 in a nonspecific order.

- Read More -

Screen Shot 2013-10-10 at 8.29.24 PM

After one episode

Here’s the post where I watch the first episode of most anime this season and hate my life for it. Hopefully the first few mediocre anime that I watched won’t be indicative of the season as a whole.

- Read More -

Screen Shot 2013-09-29 at 8.30.33 PM

Gin no Saji

Possibly One of The only anime I truly enjoyed this season… Gin no Saji will probably make it to the list of my all time favourite. This anime explore complex subject like finding your purpose in life and how should we feel about eating animals. A sincerely well done anime with a light-hearted feel with just enough drama. It was to be expected from the people who wrote the Full Metal Alchemist and directed by Itou Tomohiko (I mean just look at the anime he worked on…)

- Read More -

Screen Shot 2013-07-29 at 7.14.15 PM

This anime season sucks

I was gonna start this article apologizing for not posting more on here… however I don’t really feel guilty about it. I mean seriously though, there’s only like one good show and 3 watchable one ? I don’t want to be the annoying brat complaining that everything sucks… but that’s pretty much the case isn’t it ?

- Read More -

Screen Shot 2013-07-10 at 3.25.09 PM

Sexism, homophobia, double standards and a swimming anime.

I guess I shouldn’t be surprise by all the horrible reactions over the swimming anime (Free!)… but i’m quite upset by such blatant double standards views being express on some website with huge following. The young straight white male blogosphere is now all up in arm against female fanservice… it’s over the top or it’s way too homo or the plot is empty . What’s funny is that after a good day of complaining over the sexualisation of men… they go back to watch their favourite loli anime where they can fantasize about having sex with their little sister. I guess this is the internet and it should come as no surprise, yet i’m still upset. Sooo, I went around the intraweb to collect the most beautiful example of straight male anxiety for my own entertainment; and probably yours as well.

- Read More -

2

Ghost in the Shell Arise

First of four  (Border 1: Ghost Pain) , this OVA of Ghost in the Shell takes us at the beginning of everything… before Major was even part of section 9. In the middle of a controversial affair of missiles being sold to third world country, Major is the main suspect for the murder of her superior.

- Read More -

Screen Shot 2013-04-27 at 8.15.58 PM

Top anime of 2013

The anime season of 2013 is horrible. Most of the show are there strictly to satisfy some weird fetish of the young straight male audience. From cutting the hair of a naked little girl, to helpless small talking doll. So here’s a list of the best anime of 2013 (from my perspective).

- Read More -

Older Posts